Public Schools

Martensdale/St. Marys Community School District
Tom Wood
390 Burlington PO Box 350

Home of the Blue Devils

Norwalk Community Schools
Duane “DT” Magee, Superintendent 515-981-0676 Kate Baldwin, Business Manager Amy Gage & Dawn Schiro
380 Wright Rd

Located adjacent to Des Moines and West Des Moines, Norwalk is growing with each passing school year. The Norwalk district is comprised of the cities of Cumming, Spring Hill and Norwalk. Located in the area are several opportunities for higher and continuing education. The Des Moines Area Community College, American Institute of Business, Grandview College, Simpson College, Warren County DMACC located at Southridge Mall are all minutes from Norwalk.Norwalk maintains four reporting facilities (with 5 names) Oviatt Elementary (PreK-3), Lakewood (4-5), Middle School (6-7), Eastview (8-9), and Norwalk High School (10-12). Norwalk Schools serves approximately 2650 students each school year.Norwalk is the home of the “Warriors” who have camptured 6 state championships in sports, numerous statewide recognitions in band, chorus and other activities. A new stadium and 900-seat auditorium grace the campus. Academically, we have experienced growth for all students in achievement as measured by standardized tests over the last 10 years. Ten years ago the average proficiency in Norwalk was at or below 75%. Now, proficiencies are above 85% for all students in all core areas. Norwalk Middle School was awarded the Breaking Barriers award for the state of Iowa for advancing the achievement of special education students. Norwalk High School is perennially listed by the Belin Blank International Center for Gifted and Talented Education as one of the top 25 schools in Iowa for students participating in Advanced Placement testing. Norwalk is a full point above the Iowa average ACT score.Norwalk boasts one of the recognized teaching staffs in Iowa:2011 Iowa Teacher of the Year: Charity Campbell2011 Iowa CO Administrator of the Year, Mark Crady2011 Iowa Principal of the Year: Dale Barnhill2011 Iowa Technology Leader of the Year: Tim Geyer2008 Iowa’s Teacher of the Year: Andy MogleHall of Fame Coaches: Dave Mineart, Joe McFarland, Brent Walker5 finalists for Iowa Teacher of the YearNational Disney Award Winner: Jill Anderson3 national Milken award winners on staffIowa Technology Teacher of the Year: Jodi Irlmeier 2007Iowa Technology Leader of the Year: Sandi Lathrum 2008Margaret Harlow-Vogt Iowa Art Instructor of the YearFamous Warriors Alumni include:Superman Brandon RouthConan the Barbarian Star Jason MomoaBaseball All-Star Joel HanrahanFinalist for Miss America Diana ReedThousand of successful and productive adults!So, when you are thinking of a place to be……….Be a Warrior!